Batman Arkham City The Album

Rocksteady’s latest offering to drum up interest in Arkham City, the sequel to popular Arkham City is a music soundtrack. Featuring 12 new original tracks by Daughtry, Panic! At The Disco, Coheed and Cambria, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, and more (full track list below), Batman: Arkham City – The Album will be released on October 4th, two weeks prior to the game’s North American release on October 18th. The Batman: Arkham City Collector’s Edition of the game will include an album download along with additional bonus content.

The artists “approached their contributions to the album with their own unique interpretations of the stories surrounding Batman.”   Presumably not the tale of the actual game, the premise of which – the mayor closing the prisons and abandoning a huge portion of Gotham to crime – has been called preposterously dark and ludicrously improbable.  Still, the music sounds interesting to Batman fans.

The result is an eclectic mix of dynamic, atmospheric songs for an album that will appeal to fans of both the artists and Batman: Arkham City. Coheed and Cambria frontman Claudio Sanchez said, “I write in a very conceptual format with the stories that surround Coheed and Cambria, but Batman has a much larger, defined history and rules that go along with it. My goal was to find universal themes from Batman’s existing history to help give the lyrics legs and dimension so that the song could live within that world.”


Check out the track listing below:

1. Panic! At The Disco – Mercenary

2. Coheed and Cambria – Deranged

3. The Duke Spirit – Creature

4. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Shadow On The Run

5. Blaqk Audio – Afterdark

6. The Raveonettes – Oh, Stranger

7. ††† (Crosses) – The Years

8. The Damned Things – Trophy Widow

9. Daughtry – Drown In You

10. The Boxer Rebellion – Losing You

11. Serj Tankian – Total Paranoia

*Bonus Collector’s Edition track

12. A Place to Bury Strangers – In The Shadow

The game will be released for the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, Games for Windows PC and the PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system.  Published by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment and developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City “builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security“home for all of Gotham City’s thugs, gangsters and insane criminal master-minds.”  In addition to the improbable premise, the game drew early fire for using the goggled costume for Catwoman which scores of fans despise.

The sequel “introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight.”

See Related:
Zimmer: Batman 3 score must do more than rehash The Dark Knight

%d bloggers like this: