gothamtrending

@GothamTrending

Anne Hathaway on Catwoman “The character’s naughty anyway, so if I was perfectly behaved I wouldn’t be honoring her” | The Marquee Blog, CNN

Anne Hathaway, Selina Kyle/The Catwoman in the dark knight rises - The character is naughty

Anne Hathaway, Selina Kyle/The Catwoman in The Dark Knight Rises. "The character is naughty, so if I was perfectly behaved I wouldn’t be honoring her"

Last week after the famously un-catwoman-esque Catwoman picture came out, a reporter rather tactlessly asked Anne Hathaway how much weight she had lost to fit into the catsuit, and as one blogger put it “adorability ensued.”  This week, Hathaway is more forthcoming about her preparations to play Selina Kyle, The Catwoman in Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight Rises.

While prepping to play Selina Kyle in “The Dark Knight Rises,” Hathaway is committed – not only has she switched up her lifestyle to accommodate the reality that she’s got to fit into a catsuit, but she even considered getting a cat to examine, just for the role.

“I actually had this moment when I convinced one of the assistant directors on the London portion of the film to get a cat with me, the idea being that we were going to get a kitten from a rescue shelter, and he was going to live with me, and I was going to observe it, and when I left London I was going to give it to her,” Hathaway recalled to Chelsea Handler in Interview magazine.

“Then, thankfully, her husband pointed out that that was a terrible idea on so many levels, not the least of which being that it would probably be really confusing to the cat.”

But she doesn’t only have to get the character right – she also has to work on her physique. Although she’s explained to Handler on her show, E!’s “Chelsea Lately,” before that she doesn’t like working out, it seems the 28-year-old actress has found a way to embrace it.

“I really like it now. Actually, I think I’d never really gotten over the hump – there’s a workout hump where you’re so weak everything is painful and you look like an idiot,” she says. “The gym where I work out, I was literally working out next to a pregnant Jessica Alba, and she could do more push-ups than I could.”

Now, though, she’s starting to take up Bikram yoga, and “like, living on kale and dust, for the training,” she tells Handler on her show. “The catsuit’s unforgiving man. [I get into the suit] with a lot of motivation…it takes three of us. And the movie I think shoots over six months, so it’s not like you focus your efforts for one day, [you have to] really get into it.”

While that does mean that she’s ceased doing a lot of indulging, she hasn’t become a complete teetotaler.

“You’ve gotta have a little fun,” she says of drinking just a bit. “The character’s naughty anyway, so if I was perfectly behaved I wouldn’t be honoring her.”

via Anne Hathaway’s living on ‘kale and dust’ for ‘Dark Knight Rises’ – The Marquee Blog – CNN.com Blogs.

Written by Gotham Trending

08/19/2011 at 6:04 am

